2008 Spirit Awards Winners List

Spirit Awards Winners

Film Independent's Spirit Awards is a celebration honoring films made by filmmakers who embody independence and who dare to challenge the status quo. Televised in millions of homes and covered internationally by the press, the Spirit Awards has become the vanguard event in independent film, recognizing the achievements of independent filmmakers and promoting independent film to a wider audience.

Best Feature

Best Male Lead
Philip Seymour Hoffman
The Savages

Best Female Lead
Ellen Page

Best Director
Julian Schnabel
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Best Cinematographer
Janusz Kaminski
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Best Screenplay
Tamara Jenkins
The Savages

Best Supporting Male
Chiwetel Ejiofor
Talk To Me

Best Supporting Female
Cate Blanchett
I'm Not There

Best First Feature
The Lookout
Director: Scott Frank 

Best First Screenplay
Diablo Cody

Best Documentary
Crazy Love
Director: Dan Klores

Best Foreign Film
Once (Ireland)
Director: John Carney

John Cassavetes Award
August Evening
Writer/Director: Chris Eska

Robert Altman Award
I'm Not There
Director: Todd Haynes 

Acura Someone to Watch Award
Ramin Bahrani
Director of Chop Shop

Piaget Producers Award
Neil Kopp
Producer of Paranoid Park
and Old Joy

IFC Truer than Fiction Award
Laura Dunn
Director of The Unforeseen