Tina Turner Set To Release Live DVD/CD 2 Disc Set On October 20th

2008 saw the Queen of Rock “n” Roll, Tina Turner return to the live circuit and announce the ‘Tina Turner’s 50th Anniversary Concert Tour’ much to the delight of her fans. The tour kicked off in Kansas in October 2008 and continued for six months visiting over ten countries in two continents.

Tina performed an astounding ninety shows, repeatedly selling out, with nightly standing ovations. Millions of fans and critics alike were blown away by Tina’s age defying high-octane performances showing that the star has no sign of slowing down at nearly 70 years young. The megastar delivered an energetic, powerful, uncompromised two hour set performing classic hits with incredible musicians, vocalists, dancers and ninjas, supported by stunning production, innovative choreography, spectacular lighting, pyrotechnics and much more.

As Tina finished the final show in Sheffield in May 2009 she said, “I have been overwhelmed, astounded and taken to new heights by the reaction of the thousands of fans who came to see me every night. This has been a tour to remember, to hold dear in my heart and what a way to celebrate my 50 years in the business…to sum up…it’s been super!”

To commemorate this record breaking world tour Manhattan Records will release the Tina Live DVD on Ocotber 20th.  The DVD was filmed at GelreDome, Arnhem in Holland in March 2009 where Tina played to an enormous crowd of 70,000 people.

Directed by David Mallet for Serpent Productions, this breathtaking footage is filmed in HD and mixed in 5.1 surround sound. At over two hours long it features all of her much loved songs including, ‘The Best’, ‘Private Dancer’ and the powerful ‘We Don’t Need Another Hero’. 

Check out what the critics had to say:

“Tina Turner is at the top of game …. She’s still the queen… Turner’s moves transcended sexual expression to become superhuman , the miraculous athleticism of woman who’s moved beyond life’s stages into some other state of eternal strength.”

Los Angeles Times

“… She delivered confirmation that in the present, she’s ever bit deserving of the marquee celebration at night’s end that flashed T-I-N-A, an icon – no, make that a queen – of American music.”

The Hollywood Reporter

“The 110 minutes performance belied her 68 years and suggested there might be a fountain of youth after all.”

Chicago Tribune

“As any combination of fireworks, fanning sparklers and troupe of gymnast dancers might suggest, this celebration toasted institutional longevity – including those two signature pins connecting her waste to her feet”

Chicago Sun Times

“This was a two hour, two set performance by a living legend that lived up the legend.”

Minneapolis Star Tribune


Tracklisting as follows:


1. Steamy Windows

2. Typical Male

3. River Deep, Mountain High

4. What You Get Is What You See

5. Better Be Good To Me

6. Acid Queen

7. What’s Love Got To Do With It

8. Private Dancer

9. We Don’t Need Another Hero

10. Help

11. Let’s Stay Together

12. Undercover Agent For The Blues

13. I Can’t Stand The Rain

14. Jumping Jack Flash/It’s Only Rock N Roll

15. Golden Eye

16. Addicted To Love

17. The Best

18. Proud Mary

19. Nutbush City Limits

20. Be Tender With Me Baby


A Tina Live CD serves as an accompaniment to this visual spectacular. Tracklisting as follows:


1. Steamy Windows

2. River Deep, Mountain High

3. What You Get Is What You See

4. Better Be Good To Me

5. What’s Love Got To Do With It

6. Private Dancer

7. We Don’t Need Another Hero

8. Lets Stay Together

9. Jumpin’ Jack Flash

10. It’s Only Rock And Roll (But I Like It)

11. Goldeneye

12. Addicted To Love

13. The Best

14. Proud Mary

15. Nutbush City Limits