Steal the moon? A despicable act… and the obsession of one of the world’s greatest super-villains Gru (Steve Carell) in Universal Pictures and Illumination Entertainment’s inaugural animated 3-D CGI feature, Despicable Me, opening July 9th.  On July 6th, three days before the film’s opening, Star Trak/Interscope Records will release DESPICABLE ME: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK, featuring new music by Pharrell, Robin Thicke, Destinee & Paris, and others, plus a pair of classics from The Bee Gees (“You Should Be Dancing”) and The Sylvers (“Boogie Fever”).

Surrounded by an army of mischievous little minions and armed with his arsenal of shrink rays, freeze rays and battle-ready vehicles, Gru vanquishes all who stand in his way.  That is, until the day he encounters the immense will of three little girls who look at him and see something that no one else has: a potential Dad. Check out the film’s trailers and a sneak peek at:

In addition to composing the film’s orchestral score for the DESPICABLE ME: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK, Pharrell also takes the lead on four tracks he wrote and produced, beginning with the title tune, “Despicable Me,” and including “Fun, Fun, Fun,” “Prettiest Girls,” and “Rocket’s Theme.” With superstar Robin Thicke, Pharrell co-wrote and produced “My Life.”  In addition to “I’m on a Roll,” by sisters Destinee & Paris (formerly of Interscope’s Clique Girlz), Pharrell also wrote and produced tracks for the film’s mischievous minions (“Minions Mambo”, co-written with Lupe Fiasco), and littlest orphan, Agnes (“The Unicorn Song”).  The album is rounded out by two vintage No. 1 disco hits from 1976, by The Bee Gees (“You Should Be Dancing”) and The Sylvers (“Boogie Fever”).

Universal Pictures Presents A Chris Meledandri Production:  Steve Carell in Despicable Me, starring Jason Segal, Russell Brand, Kristen Wiig, Miranda Cosgrove, Will Arnett, Danny McBride, Jack McBrayer and Julie Andrews.  The original songs and themes are by Pharrell Williams; the score is by Pharrell Williams and Heitor Pereira.  Despicable Me‘s editors are Pamela Ziegenhagen-Shefland and Gregory Perler; the production designer is Yarrow Cheney.  The 3-D CGI film’s executive producers are Nina Rowan and Sergio Pablos.  It is based on story by Sergio Pablos and from a screenplay by Cinco Paul & Ken Daurio.  The film is produced by Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy, John Cohen, and it is directed by Chris Renaud and Pierre Coffin.  © 2010 Universal Studios.


1. Despicable Me – Pharrell

2. Fun, Fun, Fun – Pharrell

3. I’m on a Roll – Destinee & Paris

4. Minion Mambo – The Minions

5. Boogie Fever – The Sylvers

6. My Life – Robin Thicke

7. Prettiest Girls – Pharrell

8. Rocket’s Theme – Pharrell

9. You Should be Dancing – The Bee Gees

10. The Unicorn Song – Agnes