Complete List Of 2009 BET HIP HOP Nominees

Kanye West Leads The Pack With Nine Nominations As Hip-Hop’s Crowning Night Returns to Atlanta on Saturday, October 10 and Premieres on BET Tuesday, October 27 at 8:00 p.m.*

Ice Cube Will Be Honored as This Year’s “I AM HIP-HOP” Icon Award Recipient

The Late DJ AM is Among the Nominees for DJ of the Year

BET Introduces Two New Categories, “Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip Hop Style)” and “Best Hip-Hop Blog Site”

The BET HIP-HOP AWARDS ’09 nominations were announced earlier this evening on 106 & PARK, along with the highly respected renowned rapper, actor, screenwriter, film producer and director Ice Cube who will receive this year’s “I AM HIP-HOP” Icon Award. Hosted by actor and comedian Mike Epps, the hip-hop event of the year returns to Atlanta’s Boisfeuillet Jones Civic Center on Saturday, October 10 to celebrate the biggest names in the game – both on the mic and in the community. The BET HIP-HOP AWARDS ’09 will premiere Tuesday, October 27 at 8:00 PM*.

The Hip-Hop Awards Voting Academy which is comprised of journalists, industry executives, and fans has nominated rapper, producer and style aficionado Kanye West for an impressive nine awards. Jay Z and Lil Wayne follow closely behind with seven nominations, and T.I. rounds things off with six nominations. Additionally, BET has added two new nomination categories to this year’s show — “Made-You-Look Award” (Best Hip Hop Style) which will go to the ultimate trendsetter and “Best Hip-Hop Blog Site,” which will go to the online site that consistently keeps hip-hop fans in the know non-stop.


Veteran rapper, Ice Cube pioneered the West Coast rap movement back in the late 80’s. His originality and endless creativity helped pave the way for a new and enticing sound for hip hop as well as a successful career in film and philanthropy. The “I AM HIP-HOP” Icon Award recognizes those who have made notable contributions of outstanding significance to the hip-hop community. Ice Cube will join the BET HIP-HOP AWARDS’ Hall of Fame as the fourth “I AM HIP-HOP” Icon Award honoree. Past recipients of this prestigious award include Grandmaster Flash, KRS ONE and Russell Simmons.

Known to be one of the most important figures in the rap game, Ice Cube began his career with the West Coast rap group N.W.A two decades ago. At the height of the group’s success, Ice Cube broke away to start his own solo career. Soon after, Ice Cube became a major Hollywood force. He is the star, producer and catalyst for the “Friday” and “Barbershop” film franchises, all released through his own company, Cube Vision; and has become one of the most bankable actors thanks to his charismatic turns in box office hits such as “First Sunday,” “Are We There Yet?,” “Are We Done Yet?,” “Boyz N The Hood” and “Three Kings” to name a few. Besides rap and film, in 2007 Ice Cube partnered with the prestigious McNally Smith College of Music in St. Paul, Minnesota to establish an annual music scholarship, which annually awards one student who exemplifies creativity, talent and skill in developing a song based on the elements he provides them with. Also in 2007, Ice Cube and long time collaborator DJ Pooh announced the launch of, the world’s first real-time streaming television network online. Ice Cube’s latest album “Raw Footage,” made it to 1 on the Hip Hop/R & B charts, selling 69,234 units in its first week and 5 on overall Top 200 Album sales chart.

    The following are the nominees and categories for the 2009 BET HIP-HOP AWARDS:

    Best Hip-Hop Collabo

    Jim Jones & Ron Browz f/ Juelz Santana – Pop Champagne

    Lil Wayne f/ Bobby Valentino – Mrs. Officer

    Rick Ross f/ John Legend – Magnificent

    T.I. f/ Rihanna – Live Your Life

    Young Jeezy f/ Kanye West – Put On

    Best Live Performer

    Busta Rhymes


    Lil Wayne


    Kanye West

    Lyricist of the Year




    Lil Wayne

    Kanye West

    Video Director of the Year

    Gil Green

    Anthony Mandler

    Mr. Boomtown

    Chris Robinson

    Hype Williams

    Producer of the Year

    Ron Browz

    Cool & Dre

    Tha Bizness


    Kanye West

    Track of the Year

    Day “N” Nite – Kid Cudi

    D.O.A. (Death of Auto Tune) – Jay-Z

    Every Girl – Young Money (Lil Wayne, Drake, Jae Mills, Gudda Gudda & Mack Maine)

    Live Your Life – T.I. f/ Rihanna

    Turn My Swag On – Soulja Boy Tell’em

    CD of the Year

    Eminem – Relapse

    Q-Tip – The Renaissance

    T.I. – Paper Trail

    Kanye West – 808 & Heartbreak

    Young Jeezy – The Recession

    Rookie of the Year




    Kid Cudi


    Best Hip-Hop Video

    Dorrough – Ice Cream Paint Job

    Eminem – We Made You

    Jay-Z – D.O.A. (Death of Auto Tune)

    Kid Cudi – Day “N” Nite

    T.I. f/ Rihanna – Live Your Life

    MVP of the Year



    Lil Wayne


    Kanye West

    DJ of the Year

    DJ AM

    DJ Drama

    DJ Khaled

    DJ Tony Neal

    DJ Greg Street

    Hustler of the Year




    Lil Wayne

    Kanye West

    Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip-Hop Style)


    Kid Cudi

    Lil Wayne

    Soulja Boy Tell’em

    Kanye West

    Best Hip-Hop Blog Site

    All Hip Hop

    Nah Right


    This Is 50

    World Star Hip Hop

    People’s Champ (Viewers Choice)

    Dorrough – Ice Cream Paint Job

    Fabolous f/ The-Dream – Throw It In The Bag

    Kid Cudi – Day “N” Nite

    Soulja Boy Tell’em – Turn My Swag On

    Kanye West f/ Young Jeezy – Amazing

This year, BET once again teams up with Cossette Productions, the famed producers of the GRAMMY Awards(R) and the seven record-setting BET AWARDS shows, to handle production of the telecast. Stephen G. Hill, BET President, Music and Programming, along with Lynne Harris-Taylor, BET Vice President of Specials, are executive producers of the telecast.

Tickets for THE BET HIP-HOP AWARDS ’09 are by invite only and not available for purchase.

Interested media outlets, who would like to cover the BET HIP-HOP AWARDS ’09 red carpet arrivals, should visit the BET PR website at for important information on how to properly submit your media credentials request. The media credentials deadline to submit requests is Friday, October 2, 2009.

*All times ET/PT